Celebrating Conservation Boards Update 1 - 2015

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

A third of our beautiful country is known as the Conservation Estate and is owned by the people of New Zealand.

Conservation Boards represent their interests on conservation matters and advise both the Department of Conservation and the New Zealand Conservation Authority on conservation matters.

Thank you to everyone involved in the thirteen Conservation Boards across the country in 2015 - your work makes a difference.

This newsletter is the first of a series of updates from boards across the country.

Auckland Conservation Board

The Auckland Conservation Board has engaged with a wide range of stakeholders throughout 2015. Read more >>

Waikato Conservation Board  - Te Papa Atawhai O Te Rohe O Tainui

The Waikato Conservation Board had a very productive year following on from the Waikato Conservation Strategy (CMS) becoming operative in late 2014. Highlights of the year have been approving and applying the new CMS milestone implementation monitoring report. Read more >>


The three Conservation Board’s, which currently lie in the department’s Central North Island (CNI) region, have been coming to grips with the implementation of the department’s new structure. The Bay of Plenty, Tongariro/Taupo and Taranaki/Whanganui Boards have experienced similar and shared work flows. Read more >>

Bay of Plenty Conservation Board

The Bay of Plenty (BoP) Conservation Board has been stepping up their engagement with the development of the Ngati Whare Whirinaki Management Plan by participating within a joint process with Ngati Whare representatives

Tongariro/ Taupo Conservation Board 

The Tongariro/ Taupo Conservation Board has the significant task of monitoring the implementation of the CMS in the management of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. 

Taranaki/ Whanganui Board

The Taranaki Whanganui (TW) Conservation Board is focused on the implementation of its strategic plan, including a structured CMS monitoring process in advance of a CMS review. 

East Coast Hawke’s Bay Te Tairāwhiti ki Te Matau-a-Māui Conservation Board

This is the first year of the new Board in the East Coast Hawke’s Bay region. The Board adopted the Maori translated name ‘East Coast Hawke’s Bay Te Tairāwhiti ki Te Matau-a-Māui Conservation Board’ to better reflect the Board’s boundaries. Read more >>

Chatham Islands Conservation Board (CICB)

The Chatham Islands Conservation Board was pleased to have our board increased from five to seven members this year. Read more >>

Nelson Marlborough Conservation Board

During 2015, the Nelson Marlborough Conservation Board held meetings across the region, including field trips to Abel Tasman National Park, Golden Bay, and the Oceana Gold mine at Reefton with the West Coast Tai Poutini Conservation Board. Read more >>

Canterbury Aoraki Conservation Board

The Board’s focus this year has been on getting the Canterbury CMS completed, and developing an annual plan that reflects what the Board wants to achieve in the community. Read more >>

Otago Conservation Board

2015 has been a demanding year for the Otago Conservation Board. Adjusting to Departmental structures and developing relationships both with DOC staff and the wide suite of interested organisations, both commercial and voluntary. Read more >>

Southland Conservation Board

The main activity for the Southland Conservation Board over the last year has been tweaking the Draft Southland / Murihiku Conservation Management Strategy to a point where it could be handed over to the NZCA. Read more >>


Conservation Boards across the country have been working hard and making important decisions for the Conservation Estate.

I wish you all a very Happy Christmas, a well-deserved holiday break and look forward to working with you in 2016.

Best Regards 

Hon Nicky Wagner National Member of Parliament for Christchurch Central,

Associate Minister of Conservation

DDI +64 4 817 6840  |  Fax +64 4 473 0469 | 103 Salisbury Street | Christchurch 8013

Ph 03 365 8297  PO BOX 21359 | Edgeware | Christchurch 8143  |  or FREEPOST: Parliament Buildings, Wellington 6160,  New Zealand

www.nickywagner.co.nz   www.national.org.nz   www.facebook.com/nickywagnermp